Confinement

This time round doing confinement at my own house is much much more comfortable and relax. I am not that depressed, frustrated and stressed as compared to the first time. I am definitely a lot more happier! 🙂 Surprisingly, time passes pretty fast too. Three years back then, I was striking off days on my calendar, counting down to the last day of confinement. Yet now I feel that time is passing too fast. haha… Anyway my confinement lady, Zhen Jie, is considered competent in her job. She cooks for us, cleans the house, washes all our clothes, cares for the baby without having us to remind or prompt her to. Her cooking is good too. I am so glad that she is an efficient worker. Oh ya and Darian likes to play with her; perhaps she has a way or so with the kids. Haha… 🙂 The only concern for me is that looking at the rate she washes the clothes, I guess our utilities for this month is going to be a bomb! Haha… I was just telling Papa Yap the other day that I am going to blog as much as I can when she is still around. After she leaves, I will be juggling with the baby, toddler and housechores, which I do not think I have this much time for myself. And also, if only I can afford it, I would very much like her to stay for another month. Hah like I said, if only… 🙂

In the past, woman will have to do a month of serious confinement after giving birth. They were not allow to touch water, which means no bathing at all. As one would experience Rheumatism when ages and real bad headaches if you were to wash your hair. Other then nursing the baby and eating, they ought to be resting on the bed. I seriously wonder how can people survive through a month like this especially without having to shower and wash their hair! That is total madness! Also, they have to eat dishes cooked with a lot of ginger and alcohol that they claimed it is to expel out the wind in our body which we got during the birth process. However, all of these are not scientifically proven at all, in fact, you should avoid ginger and alcohol if you are still breastfeeding the baby. Even the PD Dr Ho reminded me not to consume those while breastfeeding. I seriously think we should keep ourselves clean especially when we are still breastfeeding the baby. Hygiene is very important too.

<<<>>>

2 thoughts on “Confinement

Leave a Reply

